Best AI Tools for UK Small Businesses: The Right Tool for Each Job, With Prices and Free-Tier Limits Checked on the Vendor's Own Page
The best AI tool for each small-business job, from writing to bookkeeping: what it does, what it costs and what the free tier allows, read 22 September 2026.
There is no single best AI tool for a UK small business. There is a best tool for each job — and for many firms it is one they already pay for. On 22 September 2026 we read every vendor’s own page: Microsoft 365 Copilot Business was from £16.10 per user a month ex VAT, Google Workspace included Gemini from $7, and Xero, QuickBooks and Sage all bundled AI into UK plans from £18, £10 and £20 a month.
Last checked: 22 September 2026.
This page answers “which tool, for which job”. It sits alongside three narrower pages on this site, and the split is deliberate. If you already know which tools you want and need the full budget, VAT and per-seat arithmetic, read what AI tools actually cost a UK small business. If you want to pay nothing, free AI tools for UK small businesses covers every free-tier ceiling plus who owns the output. And if you have a tool and want to know what to do with it on Monday, how to use AI in a UK small business sets out real workflows and the data checks to run before you paste anything.
The best AI tool for each small-business job
Every figure in this table was read from the vendor’s own pricing page on 22 September 2026. Dollar prices are the vendor’s; the pound figures in brackets are our conversion at the Bank of England spot rate for 21 September 2026 (US$1.3374 to £1) and are an indication, not a price anyone quoted.
| The job | Best first pick | Price read 22 Sep 2026 | What the free tier allows |
|---|---|---|---|
| Writing, summarising, answering questions | ChatGPT or Claude | ChatGPT Plus $20/month (about £14.95); Claude Pro $17/month on annual, $20 monthly | Both have usable free tiers; see below |
| AI inside Word, Outlook, Excel and Teams | Microsoft 365 Copilot | Copilot Business add-on £16.10 per user/month annual (£13.80 promotional), ex VAT | No free tier; a free trial on each plan |
| AI inside Gmail and Docs | Google Workspace | Business Starter $7 per user/month (about £5.23), Gemini included | No free tier; 14-day trial |
| Bookkeeping and bank reconciliation | The accounting package you use | Xero Ignite £18; QuickBooks Sole Trader Plus £10; Sage Accounting Start £20 | None; all three showed 90%-off-style introductory offers |
| Meeting notes and actions | Fathom | Free; Premium $16/month annual (about £11.96) | Unlimited recordings and transcriptions, instant AI summaries |
| Answering website chat | Tidio | Free; Starter $24.17/month billed annually (about £18.07) | 50 billable conversations a month; first 50 AI-agent conversations once |
| Moving data between apps | Zapier or Make | Zapier Professional £15.30/month with GBP selected; Make Core $9/month annual (about £6.73) | Zapier: 100 tasks, two-step only. Make: 1,000 credits, 2 active scenarios |
| Social graphics and flyers | Canva | Price not readable for a UK buyer (see the end of this page) | Up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses; one Brand Kit with three colours |
| Video and podcast editing | Descript | Hobbyist $16/month annual (about £11.96), $24 monthly | 60 media minutes a month; 100 AI credits, once |
The rest of this page takes each job in turn: what the tool does, what it costs, where the free tier stops, and who should pick something else.
What UK businesses actually use AI for, in official figures
Most “best tools” lists open with an adoption statistic from a survey nobody can find. The Office for National Statistics publishes the real one. Its article Artificial intelligence in UK businesses: 2023 to 2026, released on 20 July 2026 and based on the Business Insights and Conditions Survey (wave 159, June 2026), found:
| Measure | ONS figure |
|---|---|
| Businesses with 10 or more employees using at least one AI technology | about 35%, up from about 12% in late 2023 |
| Businesses with 0 to 9 employees using AI | 28% |
| Businesses with 250 or more employees using AI | 49% |
| Average number of AI technologies per adopting business | about 1.6, up from about 1.4 |
| Most-used technology: large language models | 18% of businesses (10+ employees) |
| Visual content creation | 16% |
| Information and communication sector using AI | 58% |
| Construction sector using AI | 13% |
Three practical conclusions follow from those numbers, and they shape the recommendations below.
Most small firms are not using AI yet, and those that are use very little of it. An average of 1.6 technologies means one assistant, perhaps with one other tool. That is the right starting shape: pick one tool per job, not a stack.
Free tools are how many sectors start. The ONS reports that manufacturing, wholesale and retail, accommodation and food, and administrative services most commonly adopted AI through free-to-use software, while construction, information and communication and professional services more often bought external software. Free tiers therefore matter as much as prices, which is why the table above gives both.
The barrier is usually knowing what to use it for. The ONS lists the most common reasons for delaying adoption as difficulty identifying business use cases, cost and a lack of expertise. That is a “which job” problem before it is a “which tool” problem — the reason this page is organised by job.
Before you buy anything: the AI you may already be paying for
The cheapest AI tool is the one already inside software on your direct debit list. These are the AI features each vendor advertised on its UK plan pages on 22 September 2026.
| If you already use | AI the vendor includes or sells | What the page said |
|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 | Microsoft 365 Copilot, sold as an add-on or bundled into “with Copilot” plans | Business Standard with Copilot £18.10 per user/month annual; Business Premium with Copilot £24.60; “Price does not include VAT” |
| Google Workspace | Gemini, included rather than sold separately | Starter includes “Gemini AI assistant in Gmail” and “Chat with AI in the Gemini app” |
| Xero | JAX | Marketed as “JAX, your AI finance partner” across the UK plans |
| QuickBooks | Intuit Intelligence | “Accounting AI” and “AI-powered bank feeds” from Sole Trader Plus; “VAT AI” from Simple Start |
| Sage Accounting | Sage Copilot | Each plan “Now including payroll and Sage Copilot” |
| FreeAgent | AI transaction explanations; Smart Capture add-on | “Explain a bank transaction”; Smart Capture £5/month for “automatic data extraction” |
If one of those rows is you, the question is not “which AI tool is best” but “have I switched on the one I have”. Everything below assumes you have checked this first.
General AI assistants: ChatGPT and Claude
An assistant is the tool most small businesses need first, because the jobs it does — drafting, rewriting, summarising, answering questions, turning notes into a document — turn up in every sector.
ChatGPT (OpenAI)
What it does. Chat-based writing, summarising and analysis, with image generation, voice, file uploads and deep research on the paid plans.
What it costs. Read from OpenAI’s pricing page: Go $8 a month (the page notes “This plan may include ads”); Plus $20; Pro from $100; Business $20 per seat billed annually or $25 monthly, “For teams of 2–200 employees”. OpenAI quotes dollars only.
What the free tier allows. “Unlimited text chats”, “subject to abuse guardrails”, with limited messages with uploads, limited and slower image generation, limited voice chats, limited deep research and limited memory.
Pick it if you want the widest set of features in one app, including images and voice. Watch for the training default on consumer plans: OpenAI’s terms say you can opt out of your content being used to train its models, which means the default is that it can be. The Business plan lists “No training on your business data by default”.
Claude (Anthropic)
What it does. Chat-based writing, summarising and analysis, with web search, file creation, code execution and connectors to other apps.
What it costs. Read from Anthropic’s pricing page: Pro $17 a month on an annual subscription ($200 billed up front) or $20 monthly; Max from $100; Team $20 per standard seat billed annually or $25 monthly, “For teams of 2 to 150”. The page states: “Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.”
What the free tier allows. “Chat on web, desktop, and mobile”, “Search the web, create files, and run code”, “Memory across conversations”, “Connect your apps and tools” and “Create Artifacts”. Anthropic publishes usage limits rather than a message count.
Pick it if your work is long documents — contracts, tenders, reports — and careful drafting. Watch for the same training default: Anthropic’s own plan comparison lists model training as “Opt-out” on Free, Pro and Max, and “None by default” on Team and Enterprise.
Which one?
Try both free tiers on the same real task for a week and keep the one whose drafts you edit least. Paying for both is rarely justified for a business under ten people. Once client data is involved, the business plans (ChatGPT Business, Claude Team) are the ones whose pages say your data is not used for training by default — that, more than model quality, is usually the reason to upgrade.
AI inside your office suite: Microsoft 365 Copilot and Google Workspace
If your staff live in Outlook and Word, an assistant in a separate browser tab will be used less than one in the ribbon. The choice here is made by the suite you already run, not by which AI is “better”.
Microsoft 365 Copilot. Read from Microsoft’s UK Copilot for business page. Copilot Business, added to an existing Microsoft 365 plan, was £16.10 per user per month on annual billing, shown at a promotional £13.80, and £19.32 billed monthly. Bundled plans were £18.10 (Business Standard with Copilot) and £24.60 (Business Premium with Copilot). Every price carried “Price does not include VAT.” There is no free tier, only a trial.
Google Workspace. Read from Google Workspace pricing, which served US dollars to us despite the UK URL. Business Starter was $7 per user per month on annual commitment (about £5.23), Business Standard $14 (about £10.47), Business Plus $22. Gemini is included, not sold separately: Standard adds “Gemini AI assistant in Gmail, Docs, Meet and more”. There is a 14-day trial, not a free tier.
Verdict. If you are on Microsoft 365, Copilot is the natural first paid AI purchase once staff are hitting the limits of a free assistant. If you are on Workspace, you may already have what you need. Moving suites to change assistant costs far more in disruption than any price difference.
Bookkeeping: AI in Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and FreeAgent
For accounts, the best AI tool is almost always the one built into the accounting package, because it has your bank feed, your categories and your history. A general assistant cannot reconcile your bank account.
| Package | Entry plan, per month | AI features named on the UK page | VAT wording on the page |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xero | Ignite £18 (introductory £1.80 for 6 months); Grow £39; Comprehensive £55; Ultimate £70 | “JAX, your AI finance partner” | “per month excl. VAT” |
| QuickBooks | Sole Trader Plus £10; Simple Start £16; Essentials £38; Plus £56; Advanced £123 (each “Save 90% for 6 months”) | “Intuit Intelligence”, “Accounting AI”, “AI-powered bank feeds”; “VAT AI” from Simple Start | Not stated on the plan cards |
| Sage Accounting | Start £20 (1 user); Standard £43 (3 users); Plus £59 (unlimited users); 90% off for 6 months | “Now including payroll and Sage Copilot” | “excl. 20% VAT” |
| FreeAgent | £33/month or £330/year (introductory £16.50 a month for 6 months) | “Explain a bank transaction”; Smart Capture add-on £5/month | “All prices excl. 20% VAT” |
Sage’s page claims Copilot “saves you 5 hours a week”. That is the vendor’s own figure and we have not tested it.
The UK rule that matters more than the AI. If you are a sole trader or landlord, Making Tax Digital for Income Tax decides what software you must use. GOV.UK says that with qualifying income over £50,000 for 2024 to 2025 you should have started using it from 6 April 2026; over £30,000 for 2025 to 2026, from 6 April 2027; and over £20,000 for 2026 to 2027, from 6 April 2028. From 6 April 2026, the guidance says, “some sole traders and landlords must use compatible software”. QuickBooks labels Sole Trader Plus “MTD for Income Tax ready”; whichever package you pick, check it against HMRC’s compatible-software finder on GOV.UK rather than a vendor badge. (GOV.UK, Find out if and when you need to use Making Tax Digital for Income Tax; Choose the right software)
Verdict. Stay with the package your accountant already uses and switch its AI features on. Change package only for a reason that is not AI.
Meeting notes: Fathom, Otter and Fireflies
Meeting assistants join a call, record it, transcribe it and write a summary with actions. The free tiers differ more here than anywhere else on this page.
| Tool | Free tier, as the vendor states it | Where the free tier stops | First paid plan |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fathom | “Unlimited recordings + transcriptions”, “Instant AI call summaries”, clips and search across calls | Advanced summaries and “Ask Fathom” AI marked “Limited use” | Premium $16/month annual, $20 monthly |
| Otter.ai | Zoom, Teams and Google Meet integration; live transcription; speaker identification; AI chat | 300 monthly transcription minutes; 3 lifetime audio/video file imports | Pro $16.99/month (promotional $8.49 shown) |
| Fireflies.ai | “Unlimited transcription”; transcription in 100+ languages; 20 AI credits | “Limited AI summaries”; 400 minutes of storage per team; 2-hour recording limit | Pro $10/seat/month annual, $18 monthly |
Verdict. Fathom has the most generous free tier for a small team that mainly needs the recording, transcript and summary. Otter’s 300 minutes a month is about five one-hour calls; its three lifetime file imports mean it must capture meetings live. Fireflies is the one to look at if multilingual calls matter. Whichever you use, tell the people on the call it is being recorded and transcribed — you are processing their personal data, and the ICO’s transparency requirements apply to you, not the vendor.
Customer service chat: Tidio and Intercom Fin
An AI chat agent answers repeat questions on your website from your own FAQ and help content, and hands over to a person when it cannot. The pricing models are completely different, and that decides which fits.
Tidio. Read from Tidio’s pricing page. The Free plan is $0 with 50 billable conversations a month and up to 10 seats. The AI agent, Lyro, is a separate allowance: “Your first 50 conversations are free (lifetime).” Starter was $24.17 a month billed annually (about £18.07), with 100 billable conversations and “50 Lyro AI Agent conversations (one-off)”; Growth from $49.17. Lyro alone starts at $32.50 a month for 50 AI conversations. Tidio says Lyro can “Solve up to 67% of customer problems” — its claim, not ours.
Intercom with Fin. Read from Intercom’s pricing page. The Essential helpdesk was $19 per seat a month billed annually (about £14.21), and the Fin AI agent is $0.99 per outcome (about £0.74) on every plan. The page is unusually specific about what you do not pay for: “If Fin can’t answer or fails to perform an action, or if at any point the customer asks to speak to a human, you pay nothing,” and you are “only charged at most once per conversation”. Its own calculator’s default example — 120 conversations a month, 91 resolved by Fin — came to $109.09 a month (about £81.57).
Verdict. Under about a hundred chats a month, start with Tidio’s free plan and see whether an AI agent actually helps your customers before paying for one — remembering the 50 AI conversations are a one-off trial, not a monthly allowance. If you have steady volume and want to pay only when the AI succeeds, Intercom’s per-outcome model is easier to justify. Either way, the bot answers in your name: anything it tells a customer about refunds or delivery is your business telling them.
Automation: Zapier and Make
Automation tools connect two apps so that something happening in one triggers an action in another — a form entry becomes a spreadsheet row and a draft reply. They matter because AI on its own does not move data anywhere.
| Zapier | Make | |
|---|---|---|
| Free tier | Unlimited Zaps, Tables and Forms; 100 tasks a month; two-step Zaps only | 1,000 credits a month; 2 active scenarios; “15-minute minimum interval between runs” |
| First paid plan | Professional from £15.30/month with GBP selected (from $19.99) | Core $9/month annual (about £6.73), $10.59 monthly, for 10,000 credits |
| What you are billed on | Tasks | Credits: “Each module action in your scenario… counts as one credit” |
| Currency note | Zapier: “Actual price may vary based on the exchange rate… at the time of payment processing or invoicing” | Dollars only |
Sources: Zapier pricing and Make pricing, both read 22 September 2026.
Verdict. Zapier’s free plan runs a genuine one-trigger, one-action process; the two-step ceiling, not the task count, is what forces the upgrade. Make’s free plan allows multi-step scenarios but only two active at once and not more often than every 15 minutes, and its paid entry point is cheaper. n8n, the other name on most lists, localised its price by visitor (see the end of this page), so we could not give a UK figure; its self-hosted Community Edition is free if you have someone to run it.
Design and video: Canva and Descript
Canva. Its free plan lists a drag-and-drop editor, templates, a large stock library, 5GB of storage and “up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses”, with one Brand Kit limited to three colours. That AI allowance is a count, not a rate — it decides whether Canva Free is your design tool or a trial of its AI. Its pricing page served us Bangladeshi taka on the UK URL, so we cannot give a UK price. (Canva pricing)
Descript. Edits audio and video by editing the transcript. The Free plan includes 60 media minutes a month, 100 AI credits one-time and 720p export; paid plans advertise watermark-free export. Hobbyist was $16 a month annual ($24 monthly) with 10 media hours and 400 AI credits a month; Creator $24 annual ($35 monthly) with 30 hours and 4K export. (Descript pricing)
Verdict. Canva for anything static; Descript only if you publish video or podcasts regularly. Most small businesses need one of these, not both.
Which plans train on your data
This is the column missing from every list we read, and for a business handling client information it matters more than price. Only the rows below were stated on the vendors’ own pages or terms; where a vendor did not say, we have not guessed.
| Plan | What the vendor states | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Claude Free, Pro and Max | Model training: “Opt-out” | Anthropic pricing page plan comparison |
| Claude Team and Enterprise | Model training: “None by default” | Anthropic pricing page plan comparison |
| ChatGPT consumer plans | “If you do not want us to use your Content to train our models, you can opt out” | OpenAI terms of use, effective 1 January 2026 |
| ChatGPT Business | “No training on your business data by default” | OpenAI pricing page |
The practical rule: on any consumer plan, find the opt-out before the first client detail goes in, and treat a business plan as the default once personal data is routine. Our free AI tools guide quotes both vendors’ full wording, including the exceptions that apply even after you opt out.
What the top-ranking lists get wrong
We read the five pages ranking for this query before writing. Several state figures that the vendors’ own pages contradicted on 22 September 2026. We have not named the pages; the corrections are the point.
| What a top-ranking page says | What the vendor’s page said on 22 September 2026 |
|---|---|
| Otter’s free tier gives 600 minutes a month | 300 monthly transcription minutes |
| Tidio’s free tier includes 50 AI conversations a month | The first 50 Lyro AI conversations are free “(lifetime)”; the free plan’s 50 a month are ordinary billable conversations |
| Claude does not use your conversations for training by default | Anthropic’s plan table lists training as “Opt-out” on Free, Pro and Max; “None by default” applies only to Team and Enterprise |
| ChatGPT Plus is £16 a month including VAT | OpenAI quotes $20 and publishes no sterling price; any £ figure is a conversion |
| Make’s free plan gives 1,000 operations | Make now bills in credits: 1,000 a month, 2 active scenarios, 15-minute minimum interval |
| Zapier “Starter” is £16 a month | The plan is called Professional: £15.30 with GBP selected, from $19.99 |
| “All prices shown include VAT” | Microsoft, Xero, Sage and FreeAgent state their prices exclude VAT; Anthropic says tax is not included; Zapier says prices exclude all taxes |
| “All tools listed are GDPR-compliant” | Compliance is a duty on the business using the tool; the ICO’s AI guidance places accountability on “the controller, ie your organisation” |
One more: a page ranking in the top five says UK SMEs using AI tools save “an average of £29,000 per year”, attributed to the Federation of Small Businesses. We could not find that figure, and the FSB’s website blocked our requests, so we have not repeated it. The ONS figures earlier on this page are the official ones.
Tools we could not price for a UK buyer
Several tools that appear on every list are missing from our verdicts. That is a finding, not an oversight: each vendor served us a price we could not honestly present to a UK reader.
| Tool | What its pricing page did on 22 September 2026 |
|---|---|
| Canva | Served Bangladeshi taka on canva.com/en_gb/pricing/ |
| Google Gemini (consumer Google AI plans) | Served euros and German text to our server; plan names shown were Google AI Plus, Pro and Ultra |
| n8n | Served €20 a month to our server in Germany and $20 to our browser in Bangladesh — the currency follows the visitor |
| Grammarly, Notion, monday.com | Served euros (checked in our earlier cost work, same day) |
| Perplexity | Returned 403 Forbidden |
| HubSpot | Pricing page returned no readable content |
If you see a confident £ price for one of these elsewhere, ask where and when the author read it. Our checks ran from a server in Germany and a browser in Bangladesh; a reader in the UK may see a sterling price we could not.
How to choose in three questions
- What single job takes the most hours a week? Pick the row in the first table that matches it. If nothing matches, start with an assistant.
- What do you already pay for? Switch on the AI in your office suite or accounting package before buying anything new.
- Will customer or staff data go into it? If yes, choose a plan whose page says your data is not used for training by default, and read our step-by-step guide to using AI safely in a small business before the first paste.
If you are comparing AI products that are consumer entertainment services rather than business software, the rules are different again — our explainer on what Janitor AI actually is covers that category.
Frequently asked questions
Which AI tool should a UK small business try first?
A general assistant, because writing and summarising are the jobs almost every business has. ChatGPT and Claude both have free tiers that run real work; pay only when a limit stops you. Before that, check the software you already pay for: Microsoft 365, Google Workspace, Xero, QuickBooks and Sage all advertised AI features inside their UK plans on 22 September 2026.
How many AI tools does a small business actually need?
Usually one or two. The ONS found that UK businesses using AI used on average about 1.6 AI technologies in June 2026, up only from 1.4 in late 2023. In practice that means one assistant plus one tool for the job that eats most of your week — meetings, customer chat, bookkeeping or automation.
Are these AI tools GDPR compliant?
That is the wrong question, because compliance is a duty on your business, not a badge a vendor holds. Under UK GDPR you are the controller for the customer data you put into a tool. What you can check is what the vendor’s plan does with your inputs: Anthropic’s own plan table lists model training as opt-out on Claude Free, Pro and Max and none by default on Team and Enterprise.
Do UK prices for AI tools include VAT?
Mostly not. Microsoft, Xero, Sage and FreeAgent all state their UK prices exclude VAT, Anthropic says its prices do not include applicable tax, and Zapier says its prices exclude all taxes. QuickBooks’ UK pricing page did not state either way on its plan cards when we read it. Whether that 20% is a real cost depends on whether you are VAT registered.
Is Microsoft Copilot or Google Gemini better for a small business?
Whichever matches the office suite you already run. Microsoft sells Copilot Business as an add-on from £16.10 per user per month on annual billing, excluding VAT, with a promotional £13.80 shown on 22 September 2026. Google includes Gemini in Workspace plans from $7 per user per month. Switching suites to get a different assistant rarely makes sense.
Is it worth paying for ChatGPT Plus or Claude Pro?
Only once a free-tier limit is stopping real work. On 22 September 2026 ChatGPT Plus was $20 a month and Claude Pro $17 a month on annual billing or $20 monthly. If client data is involved, the business plans are the better upgrade: ChatGPT Business and Claude Team were both $20 per seat a month billed annually, and both vendors’ pages say business data is not used for training by default.
What is the cheapest way to add AI to customer service?
Tidio’s free plan includes 50 billable conversations a month, and the first 50 conversations with its Lyro AI agent are free once, not monthly. Intercom charges $0.99 per Fin outcome on top of a seat price from $19 a month billed annually, and says you pay nothing if Fin cannot answer or the customer asks for a human.
Sources
- Office for National Statistics — Artificial intelligence in UK businesses: 2023 to 2026 (released 20 July 2026; BICS wave 159, June 2026)
- OpenAI — ChatGPT pricing and terms of use (read 22 September 2026)
- Anthropic — Claude pricing and plan comparison (read 22 September 2026)
- Microsoft — Microsoft 365 Copilot for business, UK (read 22 September 2026)
- Google Workspace — Pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- Xero — UK pricing plans (read 22 September 2026)
- QuickBooks — UK pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- Sage — Sage Accounting UK (read 22 September 2026)
- FreeAgent — Pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- Fathom — Pricing, Otter.ai — Pricing, Fireflies.ai — Pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- Tidio — Pricing and Intercom — Pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- Zapier — Plans and pricing and Make — Pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- Canva — Pricing and Descript — Pricing (read 22 September 2026)
- n8n — Pricing (read 22 September 2026 from Germany and Bangladesh)
- GOV.UK — Find out if and when you need to use Making Tax Digital for Income Tax
- GOV.UK — Choose the right software for Making Tax Digital for Income Tax
- ICO — Guidance on AI and data protection: accountability and governance
- Bank of England — Daily spot exchange rate, US$ into sterling, series XUDLUSS (rate for 21 September 2026: 1.3374)